The Research Triangle Park

The future of great ideas

Research Triangle Park News

Research Triangle Foundation Board Honors Members with the Archie K Davis Award


RTP —The Board of Directors of the Research Triangle Foundation of North Carolina bestowed the distinguished Archie K. Davis Award to two of its long-term and most outstanding members—David L. Ward, Jr. and Richard L. Daugherty—at a luncheon in their honor January 19, 2012. 

The Archie K. Davis Award recognizes persons who have performed extraordinary and sustained services in the creation, development and advancement of the Research Triangle Park.  The award is named after Mr. Archie K. Davis for his manifold services in the establishment and development of the Park. Mr. Davis lead the effort to raise money to acquire the original land that made up the Park, and after retiring as Chairman of Wachovia Bank, served as president of the Research Triangle Foundation.

Past award recipients include Governor Luther Hodges, Governor Terry Sanford, Bill Friday, Romeo Guest, Robert Hanes (posthumously), George Watts Hill, Marcus Hobbs, Elizabeth Aycock, William Little, and George Herbert.

In presenting the awards, Robert Ingram, Chairman of the Foundation Board remarked that the Board is pleased to honor Mr. Ward and Mr. Daugherty for their several years of service and continued dedication to the Park. He noted, “Through their accomplishments, David and Dick have brought credit and acclaim to the Research Triangle Park and have ensured that the Park will continue to carry out its legacy of creating economic opportunities that benefit our region and the State of North Carolina at large. I am personally grateful to David and Dick for their continued counsel and commitment.”


Specific contributions to RTP by the awardees include:

David L. Ward

During his 24-year tenure on the Foundation Board of Directors, David Ward served as Chairman for 11 years and contributed to the organization as a member of the RTP Headquarters Building Committee, an ex-officio member of the Investment, Audit, Nominating/Governance and Human Resources Committees, and a member of the Executive Committee. Mr. Ward was instrumental in leading changes to the by-laws and instituting changes to the structure of the Board to make it a more effective and engaged body. He also led the effort to envision a new Master Plan for the Park, working with a Board-level Task Force to ensure the Park remains at the forefront of technology and applied science. 

Richard L. Daugherty

Richard “Dick” Daugherty has been part of the Park community for nearly forty years. From 1973-1994, Mr. Daugherty was the Site General Manager and subsequently Senior State Executive for IBM, an anchor tenant in the Park and one of the Park’s longest running and largest employers. During Mr. Daugherty’s tenure at IBM, the site doubled its employee population and quadrupled its space, becoming one of the most highly automated and productive facilities in IBM’s portfolio and one of the largest campuses worldwide. Mr. Daugherty served on the Foundation Board since 1987, serving as Chairman of the Audit Committee, Wayfinding/Sign Committee and the Master Plan Task Force and as a member of the RTP Headquarters Building Committee. Under his chairmanship of the Master Plan Task Force, a new vision and roadmap to reposition RTP was created. The plan responds to new realities and will allow RTP to re-invent itself to meet the demands of the 21st century by creating more density while still preserving the Park’s natural environment, providing more amenities for its talented workforce, and diversifying its product offering.